Union League Boys and Girls Clubs Facebook Union League Boys and Girls Clubs Twitter Union League Boys and Girls Clubs LinkedIn Union League Boys and Girls Clubs Blog

Ring Lardner Awards Dinner

5:30pm - 8:30pm

The Ring Lardner Awards for Excellence in Sports Journalism will be held on Tuesday, April 30, 2013, at the Union League Club of Chicago.  Cocktails are at 5:30 PM, dinner at 6:30, and the awards to follow. The honorees this year are Broadcast:  Mark Giangreco; Print:  Frank Deford; and Posthumous:  John “Red” Kerr.

The proceeds raised at this event benefit the Union League Boys & Girls Clubs.  This year Frank Deford’s award is being presented by Rick Telandar while Mark Giangreco will receive his award from Bob Vorwald, Producer of WGN Sports.

Previous honorees are Broadcast: Greg Gumbel, Bob Costas, Brent Musburger, Ron Santo, Pat Foley, Ken “Hawk” Harrelson and Mike Ditka; Print Ray Sons, Jerome Holtzman, Bill Gleason, Taylor Bell, Don Pierson, Bob Verdi and Bill Jauss ; and Posthumous:  Tim Weigel, John Carmichael, Dave Condon, Wendell Smith, Harry Caray, Ernie Harwell and Jack Brickhouse.

Tickets are $150; tables are $1,200 for 10 seats.  There is a discounted price of $100 for current ULBGC supporters

To register, please k.ramos@ulbgc.org


65 West Jackson
Chicago, IL 60604